July 13, 2009

  • Fan the White Hot Flame of God’s Gift that is in You

    “For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.”

    “Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord, nor of me His prisoner, but share in suffering for the gospel by the power of God, who saved us and called us to a holy calling, not because of our works but because of His own purpose and grace, which He gave us in Christ Jesus before the ages began, and which now has been manifested through the appearing of our Savior Christ jesus, who abolished death and brough life and immortality to light through the gospel, for which I was appoined a preacher and apostle and teacher, which is why I suffer as I do.  But I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that He is able to guard until that Day what has been entrusted to me.”
    2 Tim. 1:6-12 ESV

    I pray that we would fan the white hot flame of God’s gift that He has put in us.  What does this mean?  We need to be unashamed of the gospel and stand up for the truth in the midst of the hardest adversity.  I pray that God would continually fan the flames in me to be forever a witness of the grace of God.  I pray that I would forget about myself and look to the one who has given all for me; that I would represent Him in this world more faithfully and passionately.

    I encourage all who read this to go to John Piper’s website and listen to a sermon about this text.  It is a huge blessing.  Go to www.desiringgod.org and search in the search bos for “Feed the Flame of God’s Gift.”  I trust it will be a huge blessing to you too.

Comments (2)

  • “”Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord, nor of me His prisoner, but share in suffering for the gospel by the power of God.”

    I like this. It reminds me of my sufferings for preaching the Good News.

  • @c_jamaica - I’m glad that this passage encourages you.  I hope that daily you will fan the flames of the gift that God has given you.  The gift of salvation through Christ.  Never stop for, according to the original language, it is a constant, daily thing we need to be doing so that we can be deeply passionate about our Lord and Savior!  Have a good day!  God Bless!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *